December 16, 2018

October 14, 2016


From OriginPeoples:

Sometimes you can tell from the first listen of a recording that its creator has a totalizing vision that transcends time and genre. You will experience this rare sensation when you listen to Panoram's "A Doom With A View." The Italian producer has tapped into a vein of surrealist sonic collage that's at once allusive and elusive. The album parades baffling micro-movements past your ears like a secret history of misunderstood musical remnants heard on damaged media formats 50 years after a catastrophic disaster. It exposes continuity and logic as specious myths; jettisoning these vestigial elements in order to make space for a higher form of aural alchemy.

The album's two long tracks come off as a scrambled signal from the final crackles of the information age; at times you feel as if this music's been filtered through an advanced race's sensorium before it penetrates your lowly mortal ears. Its transitions seem at once logical and absurd. Just when you think you have a grip on its progress, Panoram makes a mockery of your assumptions. He bathes guitars and keyboards in a space-age sheen and swathes them in freaky interstellar frequencies and disturbing turbulence. Despite the Andromeda Strain-like chaos, something sensual and dramatic's thrumming under the surface. This is the soundtrack to a golden age that's rusting around the edges. Its degradation holds you rapt, its Elysian inferno beckons you to hum along to its eroding siren song. In a perfect world, "A Doom With A View"would be the last thing you hear in this life.

Side A - Untitled (29:07)
Side B - Untitled (34:06)

August 1, 2015

June 20, 2015


Mondo is a Running Back-related label run by Francesco De Bellis. Drawing inspiration from Italian documentary films (the term "Mondo" refers to that specific film genre) and library music, it focuses on releasing organic downtempo and ambient music. 

The label launched in 2013 with a release from De Bellis under the name L.U.C.A. called Precipizio. Three more EPs have followed since then: Laguna from ROTLA (AKA Raiders Of The Lost ARP), Dune from Studio 22 (a collaboration between De Bellis and Federico Costantini) and most recently Odeon's Selva, which dropped back in March. That four-record cycle, seasonally described as "a journey through the rise and fall of the sun, the bright light of a spring day, the warm wind that dissolves the sand on its way to the rainy season," had initially been available only on vinyl. Collezione brings all four EPs together onto a single disc.


01. L.U.C.A. - Blue Marine
02. L.U.C.A. - Cacciatori Di Frodo
03. L.U.C.A. - Precipizio
04. ROTLA - In Viaggio
05. ROTLA - Foce Verde
06. ROTLA - Bosco
07. ROTLA - Laguna
08. Studio 22 - Dune
09. Studio 22 - Pic Nic
10. Studio 22 - Vento Dominante
11. Odeon - Anxur
12. Odeon - South Bay
13. Odeon - Maga Circe